Up in the air : My in flight skincare routine 

I love traveling, I love planes, I love going to new places. But my skin? well let’s just sat it doesn’t feel the same way. Every time I fly my skin has a meltdown. Whether it’s a two hour flight or a twelve hour flight, I always end up with a few breakouts and super dry skin.

That’s why in the past year I’ve made sure that I have an in flight skincare routine to calm my skin and give it the love it needs.

So let’s break it down.


Step 1

First things first, before anything thing else I like to cleanse my face with La Roche-Posay’s Micellar water. It’s one of the best I’ve used and smells great too! (This one is the traveled sized version)

Step 2

Next I’ll go in with a mask. Since the plane ride usually sucks all the moisture out of my face I like to use a sheet mask that has moisturizing properties. This time around I chose to use Dr. Jart’s Soothing Hydra Solution. It’s great for hydrating the face and soothing red or irritated skin. The only downfall to this mask is the heavy scent of thyme which is slightly reminiscent of the Olive Garden. If you’re sensitive to heavily scented skincare items, I would skip this one all together.

Step 3

After the mask I like to apply a Serum, this time I’m going in with the two I’ve been loving the most lately. They are the Niacinamide + Zinc and the Hyaluronic Acid + B5  from The Ordinary.  Hyaluronic Acid is great for drawing moisture to the skin and Niacinamide is great for helping deter breakouts and soothing redness. Both of them together have been magic!

Step 4

When I’m done applying my serums I like to go in with a heavy moisturizer and eye cream. This helps to create a barrier for my skin. The moisturizer I’m currently using is the Ultimate Moisturizing Honey Overnight Mask by Cosrx. It’s way too heavy for daytime use but great for before bed or flying. Next I’ll go in with Mizon’s Intensive Skin Barrier for under and around the eyes. My eyelids and under eye area are the driest parts of my face so this step is super important me.

Step 5 

Last but not least I go in with my favorite moisturizing lip product, Glossier’s Balm Dot Com. I’m usually a coconut gal myself but the new cake version may have just converted me for good. Not only does it smell like cake but it leaves a subtle holographic sheen on your lips when applied, 10 out of 10 would recommend.


Products Mentioned 

Roche-Posay Micellar Water (Full Size)- 19.99

Dr. Jart Soothing Hydra Solution Sheet Mask- 6.00

The Ordinary Niacinamide 10% + Zinc 1%- 5.90

The Ordinary Hyaluronic Acid 2% + B5- 6.80

Cosrx Moisturizing Honey Overnight Mask- 16.00

Mizon Intensive Skin Barrier Eye Cream- 10.00

Glossier Cake Balm Dot Com- 12.00

Do you have an in flight skincare routine? Is there anything you think I should add to mine? Let me know in the comments below! xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

