Sheet Masks: the good, the bad and the ugly.

A few weekends ago I found myself browsing the beauty section of Urban Outfitters. That’s when a wall of sheet masks and sign that said four for $10 really caught my eye. I’m a sucker for a good deal and was curious how well a $3 sheet mask could really work.


For the last two weekends I’ve been putting these sheet masks to the test.

Now I can tell you which ones were good, which ones were bad and which ones were just plain ugly.


 

Manefit- Mugwort Astringent + Pore Care 

Mask #1 claimed to be hydrating and pore cleansing. It also might be my favorite out of the bunch. The first thing I noticed when applying this mask to my face was an immediate cooling and calming sensation, something that was more than welcome on a hot California day. The second thing I noticed was how lightweight and breathable the mask was, not too much serum and not too heavy of a sheet. After leaving it on for 20 minutes I removed the sheet mask and patted the excess serum into my skin. I can’t really say that this mask did anything for my pores but what I can say is that it left my skin feeling more plump and hydrated than it’s ever felt before.

Rating- GOOD


It’s Skin- Honey firm and glow sheet mask

Processed with VSCO with c7 presetSheet mask #2 claimed to be firming and brightening. The first thing I noticed about this mask was the heavy artificial honey smell. I love the smell of honey but I’m not too keen on putting anything with a heavy scent on my face. The next thing I noticed about this mask was how sticky and heavy the serum felt. I left the mask on for 20 minutes as instructed but the entire time it was on my face, I couldn’t wait to get it off.  After removing the mask I was shocked. Not only did my face feel parched and dry but it looked dull and lifeless too. It was like this mask had done the exact opposite of what it was supposed to do. To say I was disappointed is an understatement.

Rating- UGLY 


The Face Shop- The Solution Radiance Face Mask

Processed with VSCO with c7 preset

Sheet mask #3 was another mask claiming to brighten your complexion but instead of honey this one was formulated with Vitamin C. What I immediately noticed about this mask was how light the sheet was. It was breathable, airy and felt like nothing on my skin. Like all the others I left the mask on for 20 minutes and patted the excess serum onto my face. Upon removal my face looked plump but not any brighter than before. Overall this mask was okay, nothing life changing but it wasn’t horrible either. The only bad thing I really have to say about this mask is that it leaves a tacky feeling on your skin until the serum is fully absorbed.

Rating- somewhere between good and mediocre


Prelab- Skin Energy/Wrinkle Energy Face Mask

Processed with VSCO with c7 presetMask #4 claimed to energize the skin while helping to fight wrinkles and honestly I have nothing good to say about it. It was overly soaked with serum, hard to apply and irritated my skin. If the burning sensation around my nose and forehead wasn’t enough, I had to lay flat on my back to keep this mask from slipping off my face and onto the floor. I didn’t even last the whole 20 minutes with this mask on. Around 5 minutes I took it off and Kobe’d that shit into the trash can. I wiped off the excess serum, washed my face and put on some aztec healing clay to fix the mess that this sheet mask had left behind.

Rating- UGLY x10000


In the end the mask that gave the most immediate results was mask #1. It’s also probably the only mask I would definitely repurchase out of the bunch. As far as the other masks go, let’s just say you won’t find them in my top shelf anytime soon.

Leave a Reply

