My morning skincare routine

Let’s be real, not too long ago a skincare routine didn’t exist in my world. I washed my face once a day and even that’s giving me more credit than I deserve. Most days I would just clean my face with a face wipe and call it a day.

Growing up and all throughout high school people would always compliment me on how perfect my skin was. Those comments surely went to my head and I convinced myself I could have perfect skin forever with no real upkeep or care.

But… I wasn’t 17 anymore and soon enough I would get the wake up call I needed.

After turning 21 I noticed a huge change in my skin. I was getting oily, having breakouts more often and struggling with the texture of my skin. I was confused as to why this sudden change had come on but was desperate to fix it. Thats when I realized I needed to take better care of my skin. No more forgetting to wash my makeup off before bed, no more being too lazy to take care of my face. I was a big girl now and I needed a big girl skincare routine.

I’m 23 now and my skincare routine is now the most important part of my morning and the most relaxing part of my night.

I credit the success of getting my skin back to normal with taking the time to find the products that work best for me. I have drugstore products that I swear by and more expensive skincare that works for me too. You don’t have to spend hundreds of dollars to have a great skincare routine. Just find what works best for you, your life and your skin.


My morning routine begins with a cleanser. Right now my favorite cleanser is Juice Beauty’s Stem Cellular 2 in 1 cleanser. I love the way it makes my skin feel and that it contains mostly organic ingredients.

I try not to exfoliate more than three times a week. But when I do, I use St. Ives Blackhead Clearing Green Tea Scrub. I love the way it smells, definitely reminiscent of green tea and when you squeeze it out of the tube it looks just like matcha! I like that while exfoliating my skin it’s not to rough on it either. It leaves my skin feeling smooth and soft without irritating it.


Next I move on to Toner and Serum.

During the day I like to tone my skin with Thayers Witch Hazel and Rose Petal Toner. It’s alcohol free so it’s delicate on my skin. It doesn’t dry me out and the application is refreshing.

After I tone my face I apply the Foxbrim Retinol Serum. It contains vitamin A, vitamin E and Hyalouronic acid. If works great on my skin and leaves it feeling plump and moisturized! Not to mention all the ingredients I mentioned above are great for your skin. This Serum definitely leaves me glowing.


Step 3 is moisturizer and eye cream.

Instead of a traditional moisturizer I choose to use a face oil. My current favorite is Rhada Beauty’s Rosehip Seed Oil. Besides being a great moisturizer, rosehip seed oil has a ton of amazing benefits! It not only lightens dark spots and acne scars but can prevent fine lines in wrinkles. I take the dropper and drop about 3 to 4 drops on my fingers then lightly pat it onto my face. I love this stuff and it’s done wonders for my skin.

The eye cream I use is the Andalou Naturals Luminous Eye Serum.  It’s supposed to help lighten dark circles but at this point I’m not sure anything can rid me of my genetically dark undereyes. I mostly use this product to depuff and moisturizer under the eyes. I may soon be on the hunt for a better option but for now I’m really enjoying this one.


The next product I’m going to talk about is relatively new to my skin care routine…

SUNSCREEN.

For the longest time I believed that because I am a person of color, I don’t burn. I never wore sunscreen growing up and never felt like I even needed. Now I know that’s dumb. EVERYONE should definitely wear sunscreen. I know wearing sunscreen can suck, but hey! Adulting right?

I’m currently using Aveeno’s Moisturizing Sunscreen with SPF 35, with added vitamins A, C & E. I like it because it doesn’t have that heavy sunscreen smell or leave a white cast on my tan skin. It’s also oil free and hypoallergenic.


Last but not least I give my lips some love.

Right now I’m loving the Skinfix repair balm. Its a heavier lip balm that last all day and keeps my chronic dry lips from drying out or cracking.

Then depending on the day I’ll finish it all off with either my Heritage Store rosewater spray or Milk Makeup’s Cooling Water stick.

If it’s a no makeup day I’ll go for the spray.

But if it is a makeup day I’ll use the cooling water as a primer and depuffer before applying my foundation. I love the way my makeup goes on top of it and it prevents the redness in my cheeks from getting too crazy.

Finding what works best for my skin has been a long process but I finally feel like I have a skincare routine that works for me.  My routine has become a medative moment for me when I wake up in the morning and before I go to bed at night.

Stay tuned for nightly skincare routine which I’ll be sharing in a blog post soon.

Xoxo

JB

 

Leave a Reply

